Mercedes-Benz Fascination Tour

Sometimes I find myself in the most amazing of scenarios. Yesterday was one of those days. I somehow found myself invited to the Mercedes-Benz Fascination Tour. I got the invitation several weeks ago and had no idea what it was for or how they even got my information but when Mercedes-Benz invites you to anything – you go.

I wouldn’t call myself a petrol head but I do really enjoy cars. I drive a relatively new one and while it’s not top of the line, it’s certainly a nice car. My friends also think I’m strange because I trade them in every two or three years. I don’t mind carrying a car payment and I hate driving around something that doesn’t have a warranty. And – new car smell, I mean come on!

I had no idea what to expect when I got down there so I was a bit nervous.
I pulled into the lot in my reasonably priced car* and parked among the Porsche, Lexus and BMW’s feeling a bit out of my league. And that never happens.

I arrived to find a tent…
DSC02970

Inside was a lovely furnished area with couches and pillows and food!
That’s when I noticed the track set up and the cars parked on the other side. Wait. I get to drive these things? Oh no-no, this is a terrible idea. Who invited me to this?

Somewhat reluctantly I walked over. The man who seemed to be in charge came over and told me what was going on. He said I get to drive any/all of the vehicles around the track. Just don’t ruin them. I said ok but there was one problem — I can’t drive a standard, which I assumed most were. As luck would have it, they’re like most cars these days with the automatic transmission (with manual options). So that was a bit of a relief.

That was soon gone though when my first car pulled up.

I'm wearing glasses so you can't see the terror behind my eyes.

I’m wearing glasses so you can’t see the terror behind my eyes.

Pretty eh? Yah she’s worth a little more than what I make in a year. I got shown all the gadgets and fun things inside and how to start it. My car still requires an actual key. These don’t. And it was off I went. I was shaking so bad! I was so nervous!

Once around the track though and I was hooked. And then I just pretended I was on Top Gear!

The cars were just beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed myself and getting to see the amazing details and designs.

This one was my favourite though.

If I start saving my pennies now – I might be able to drive one when I’m 100.
A girl can hope, right?!

All that driving and excitement made for a hungry person so I dipped into the tent for some snacks. They too – were amazing. I was particularly impressed by the mini beef Wellington’s. And the Panna cotta spoons were tooooo die for. I may have had a few. Shh.

I’m so lucky that I got to have such a great experience. I hope that Mercedes-Benz invites me back next year!

I wish I had taken more/better photos but A. there were othere people waiting to also drive the cars and I didn’t want to take up their time either… you know be that girl. And B. the sun kept reflecting off the cars, blinding me, so half the time I didn’t know if I got a shot or not. I got more than my fair share of out of focus, crappy shots 😦 .

And on that bombshell – goodnight.

Leave a comment